Faculty of Science
Zoek in de site...

IMAPP Award (3th and 4th year PhD students) for Scientific Communication IMAPP

Date of news: 6 December 2023

Applications are now being accepted for the fourth installment of the “IMAPP Award for Scientific Communication,” designed to honor outstanding achievements in the field of scientific communication. Past awardees include Anke Inkenhaag for her presentation titled “Environments are important” Alicia Castro for her compelling discourse on “Knitting Quantum Spacetimes,” and Stijn Cambie for his captivating presentation titled “Smiles from Tiles”. This prestigious award is accessible to all 3rd and 4th-year PhD students who have not previously received this accolade. The award includes the privilege of delivering an IMAPP colloquium and a cash prize of €750.

Conveying our findings effectively to our peers and society as a whole is an integral aspect of our roles as scientists. The primary objective of this award is to acknowledge the endeavors and exceptional skill demonstrated in scientific communication within the IMAPP community, especially among those engaged in doctoral research. The assessment for this award will focus on the applicants' ability to inform fellow mathematicians, astronomers, and physicists proficiently about the essence of their research and its contribution to our broader comprehension of science.

Application procedure

Interested PhD students should apply by sending a one-page summary of their research and a short CV describing their activities while a PhD student at IMAPP (such as talks presented at conferences or seminars, publications, awards, scholarships and extracurricular activities). The application should be sent to IMAPP@ru.nl with the subject line “IMAPP Award for Scientific Communication” by 22 December 2023.

Shortlisted candidates will be invited to present their research to the committee in January 2024. Previous applicants indicated that they enjoyed this very much and learned a great deal from each other: both scientifically and communication-wise. The committee will select a winner and any highly commended finalists. The winner will present their colloquium and be awarded the prize during an IMAPP colloquium.

The committee consists of members from each IMAPP department with the current representatives Riccardo Cristoferi (Math), Andrew Levan (Astro) and Béatrice Bonga (HEF).