Zoek in de site...

Programme B2 (Cohort 2020, second year)

In the second and third year of the programme, there is room for specialisation according to your own interests. Curriculum 2020 has three specialisation tracks of 12 EC each, and students take two out of these three (together comprising 24 ec).

  • Data Science (12 EC)
  • Cyber Security (12 EC)
  • Software Science (12 EC).

The 24 EC specialisation is distributed over the second and third year, as follows.

  • In the second year, you complete one specialisation track fully, comprising 6 EC in the autumn semester and 6 EC in the spring semester.
  • In addition, you take 6 EC of your second specialisation track in the autumn semester.
  • The remaining 6 EC of your second specialisation is done in the spring semester of your third year.

Below you find a schematic overview of the second year programme for cohort 2020 as implemented in academic year 2021-2022. Courses that are mandatory (42 EC in total) are listed first; after that, track specific courses are listed. Compared to last year, the courses for the specialisation Cyber Security have switched semester (marked with an * asterisk).

The full curriculum of cohort 2020 (first, second and third year) including specialisation tracks, semester planning and EC per course can be found in this PDF (pdf, 148 kB). For a more detailed view of the relations between courses, you may check the updated "poster overview (pdf, 859 kB)".

Please check the transition rules describing the overview of changes and their consequences.
If you need help planning your programme, please consult your study advisor.

1st Semester: Mandatory courses ( 18 EC)
Quarter 1
Quarter 2
NWI-IBC019 Operating Systems
(3 EC)
NWI-IBC020 Information Systems
(3 EC)
NWI-IBC027 Algorithms and Data Structures
(6 EC)
NWI-IBC040 Functional Programming
(6 EC)
Specialisation track: Data Science  - 6 EC
NWI-IBI008 Data Mining
(6 EC)
Specialisation track: Cyber Security -  6 EC
* NWI-IBC023 Introduction to Cryptography
(6 EC)
Specialisation track: Software Science  - 6 EC
NWI-IBC041 New Devices Lab
(6 EC)


2nd Semester: Mandatory courses ( 24 EC)
Quarter 3
Quarter 4
NWI-I00036 IT and Society
(3 EC)
NWI-IBI007 Research Methods
(3 EC)
NWI-IBC003 Computability
(3 EC)
NWI-IBC028 Complexity
(3 EC)
NWI-IBC026 Semantics and Correctness (3 EC) NWI-IBC042 Parallel Computing
(3 EC)
NWI-IBC048 Networks and Security
(6 EC)
Specialisation track: Data Science (6 EC)
NWI-IBC036 Big Data
(6 EC)
Specialisation track: Cyber Security  (6 EC)
* NWI-IPC026 Web Security
(3 EC)
* NWI-IBC034 Operating Systems Security (3 EC)
Specialisation track: Software Science (6 EC)
NWI-IBC024 Software Verification
(3 EC)
NWI-IBC025 Semantics and Rewriting 
(3 EC)