Zoek in de site...

General guide to the Bachelor's degree

Below we describe the overall structure of the bachelor programme in Computing Science.

The curriculum consists of three main components:

1. Core curriculum (129 EC) which covers the basic terms of the programme, consisting of

  • Core basics: programming languages, algorithms, information modeling, systems architecture, mathematical structures;
  • Combined areas: distribution, interaction with the environment;
  • Methods and techniques: development, research, issues related to a professional context, mathematical techniques.

2. Specialisation tracks(*) (24 EC in total) which provide further orientation in the field of

  • Cyber Security (12 EC) - topics in the field of security, building on related topics in the core curriculum;
  • Software Science (12 EC): topics in the field of software technology
  • Data Science (12 EC): topics in the field of intelligent systems

Students choose 2 out of 3 tracks, i.e. 24 ec specialisation in all.

3. Electives (27 EC) consisting of a minor programme (15 EC) and free electives   (12 EC)

The minor can be filled in with standard packages from the university offer, or can be compiled individually subject to approval by the Examination Board. Some minor programmes have been specifically compiled for students of Computing Science to form a transition programme to the master programmes Information Sciences or Artificial Intelligence. The full package of minor programmes offered by the Science faculty can be found in the minor prospectus. Free electives are always subject to approval by the examination board, and courses should have no overlap with the remainder of your programme.

The above modules are combined to form a bachelor programme with the following different possibilities:

  • Core programme (129 ec)
  • Minor (15 ec)
  • Free electives (12 ec)
  • Specialisation tracks(*) (24 ec), consisting of
    • either Cyber Security (12 EC) and Data Science (12 EC)
    • or Cyber Security (12 EC) and Software Science (12 EC)
    • or Data Science (12 EC) and Software Science (12 EC)

Students interested in taking all three specialisations can do the courses of the third specialisation as free electives or in their minor (in the latter case, adding a 3 ec course to complete the package of 15 ec).

Flexibility in planning
In addition to the flexible content (by means of specialisations, electives and minor), the curriculum also allows for some flexibility in its planning. More information on this can be found on this page.

* NB: students are asked to register for the specialisation tracks of their choice in OSIRIS.