Zoek in de site...

Programme of Algebra and Topology

The Master’s specialisation in Algebra and Topology is taught at the Faculty of Science. It has a course load of 120 EC (two years). In this research specialisation students must take a total of at least 12 EC of Mastermath courses. Mastermath is a cooperation of all Departments of Mathematics of the Dutch universities. The courses in this programme are taught at different universities.

The Master’s degree programme content chosen by the student may, after prior permission from the Examination Board, contain a maximum of 12 EC of third year courses from the Bachelor’s programme in Mathematics. This may exclusively consist of third year courses that have not been part of the student’s Bachelor’s programme.

Courses may differ per academic year, but the core topics of Algebra and Topology remain constant.

Specialistion coordinator: Prof Dr B. Moonen

The master specialisation Algebra and Topology consists of

A. Major 30 EC
B. Minor 24 EC
C. Mathematical electives 16 EC
D. Master Thesis Project Mathematics 40 EC
E. Professional Preparation 1 EC
F. Philosophy 3 EC
G. Free electives 6 EC

A. Major (30 EC)

Mandatory courses for this major are listed in the table below. One course from every box a), b) and c) is required. The Major should be completed with master courses that are related to this specialisation.

The specialisation coordinator or your thesis supervisor can help you choose your courses.

1st Semester 2nd Semester
a) Mastermath M1: Differential Geometry (8 EC) OR
NWI-WM094B Algebraic Topology 1 (6 EC)

b) Mastermath M1: Algebraic Geometry (8 EC) OR
Mastermath Riemann Surfaces (6 EC) OR
Matermath Elliptic Curves (8 EC)


c) NWI-WM115C Master Seminar (6 EC) * X X
* This can be replaced by NWI-WM115B (3 EC) if that course was taken in 2017-2018 or earlier.

The remaining EC need to be chosen from MasterMath courses that fit in the specialisation or the courses in the table below. A list of Mastermath courses per specialisation (pdf, 75 kB) is provided. Course information for these courses may be found on the Mastermath website.

RU courses for Algebra and Topology 1st Semester 2nd Semester
NWI-WM145 Lie Algebras in Mathematics and Physics (6 EC) X
NWI-WM146 Buildings (6 EC) X
NWI-WM094B Algebraic Topology 1 (6 EC) X
NWI-WM120C Computability Theory (6 EC) X
NWI-WM148 Quantum Groups (6 EC) X
NWI-WM069B Computer Algebra (6 EC) X

Your Minor is a self-determined set of coherent courses within Mathematics or another field of interest, but not within the major. The minor needs to be approved by the Examination Board.B. Minor (24 EC)

An overview of all Mathematics courses offered by Radboud University is provided here. Courses offered by Mastermath may be found here. In case you have questions or need some help, contact your student advisor.

C. Mathematical electives (16 EC)

Mathematical electives are courses of choice within the field of Mathematics on Master's level. The mathematical electives need to be approved by the Examination Board.

D. Master Thesis Project Mathematics (40 EC)

E. Professional Preparation (1 EC)

F. Philosophy (3 EC)

One of the following courses should be completed:

  • NWI-FFIL300C Mathematics, Zeitgeist and Worldview (3 EC)
  • NWI-WM040B Philosophy of Mathematics (3 EC)

G. Free electives (6 EC)

Free electives are any courses, not necessarily within the field of Mathematics.