Nieuwjaarsbijeenkomst 2023
Nieuwjaarsbijeenkomst 2023

Looking back on the New Year's Gathering 2023

Radboud University's New Year's Gathering was held January 9, 2023, in the Aula.

During the Gathering, the 2022 Hermesdorf Awards were presented, several interviews with staff and students on current topics took place and the seven recipients of the honorary doctorates in 2023 were announced.


Daniël Wigboldus

Speech Daniël Wigboldus

The New Year's Gathering was opened and closed by College President Daniel Wigboldus.

Speech Daniël Wigboldus


Intro en Outro van Daniel Wigboldus tijdens de Nieuwjaarsbijeenkomst 2023 op maandag 9 januari.

Kiane de Kleijne

Hermesdorf Awards

During the New Year's Gathering the  werden the 2022 Hermesdorf Awards were awarded. The awards went to Alma Tostmann, Chantal Rovers, and Kiane de Kleijne, who had the courage last year to speak up in the societal debate around respectively the COVID-19 pandemic and the climate crisis.

News item: 2022 Hermesdorf Awards for Alma Tostmann, Chantal Rovers, and Kiane de Kleijne

Seven new honorary doctorates

In honour of its centenary, Radboud University will award seven honorary doctorates in 2023. The recipients are Michael Sandel, Mary Beckman, Geert Corstens, Fabiola Gianotti, Stella Nkomo, Marc Van Ranst and Sandra Graham.

News item: Seven new honorary doctorates at Radboud University