Participational bodies Faculty of Science

Staff and students at the faculty are represented through various committees and participational bodies. The participational bodies of the faculty consist of the Representative Council and the Faculty Student Council. Also, there is participation per study programme in the form of programme committees and institute assessors.

Faculty Joint Assembly

In the Faculty Joint Assembly (FJA), staff and students meet with the Faculty Board to discuss the general and strategic policy of the faculty. The interest of faculty staff is represented by the Representative Council and students interest is represented by the the Faculty Student Council (FSC). Meetings take place regularly and are, in principle, open to the public. 

View meeting agenda and reports (in Dutch)

Representative Council

The Representative Council (RC) of the Faculty of Science is one of the councils of the Works Council (WC) of the Radboud University. The RC consists of members coming from various sectors and departments at the faculty. The RC represents all employees during the Faculty Joint Assembly, the FJA. 

Faculty Student Council

The Faculty Student Council (FSC) represents the interests of the students to ensure the quality of education and to keep the education as student friendly as possible. The FSC deals with all policies that tackle student-related issues in our faculty. Follow the FSC on Instagram.

FSC 2023-2024

  • Tristan van der Schaaf (Chair)
  • Amiel Engel (Vice Chair)
  • Zofia Szkoda (Secretary)
  • Anushka Jain (Treasurer)
  • Burak Balci (Commissioner of Education)
  • Deniz Demirci (Commissioner of Internal Affairs)

Student Assessors

The Student Assessors are members of the faculty board and represent the student’s perspective. The Student Assessors are also in contact with all other bodies in the faculty relating to students and keep them involved and up-to-date.

Milan van de Coolwijk and Jelle Rozendaal
Milan van de Coolwijk (l) and Jelle Rozendaal (r)

Student Assessors 2023-2024

Jelle Rozendaal
Milan van de Coolwijk

Learn more about Jelle and Milan

Education Policy Committee

The Education Policy Committee (EPC) is formed by two EPC students, a secretary, the directors of the educational institutes, the Student Assessor, the Vice-Dean of Education, the Head of the Education Center, and the policy makers of the faculty. Their main goal is to discuss questions regarding existing education policy and to give advice regarding new policies.

Student members EPC 2023-2024
Karolis Gritenas (l) and Nadezda Dobreva (r)

Student members EPC 2023-2024

Nadezda Dobreva
Karolis Gritenas

Learn more about Nadezda and Karolis

Programme committees

The programme committees' task is to assure the quality of the education of a particular study direction. A Programme Committee usually consists of student and teacher members. Learn more about the students of the PC's.

The faculty's PC's can be reached via the email addresses listed below:

  • pc-student.biosciences [at] (Biosciences)
  • pc-students [at] (Computing Science & Information Sciences)
  • Molecular Sciences
  • olc.natuursterrenkunde [at] (Physics and Astronomy)
  • olc.wiskunde [at] (Mathematics)
  • olc.isis [at] (Institute for Science in Society)

Institute Assessors

The Institute Assessor has an advisory function within the Educational Institute, where it represents the students of their specific study. Additionally, the institute assessor forms the link between the Educational Institute and the Programme Committee of their studies. The current institute assessors are: 

  • biologieassessor [at] (Biosciences): Anne de Ruijter
  • assessor-chemistry [at] (Chemistry): Arwen Gelderman
  • assessor [at] (Computing Science & Information Sciences): Julian van der Horst & Nadezhda Dobreva
  • assessor-mls [at] (Molecular Life Sciences): Menke de Leede
  • assessor.physics [at] (Physics and Astronomy): Ruud van Witzenburg
  • assessor-science [at] (Science): Jens van Vugt
  • assessor [at] (Mathematics): Janna van Assen


PROBE is an informal structure of all Faculty of Science institutes, serving as a gateway between Faculty of Science/RU bodies and PhD students. PROBE signals problems and complaints concerning your PhD trajectory (i.e. PhD courses, teaching obligations, supervision, defence) and put these on the agendas of the relevant Faculty of Science/RU bodies, such as PON, the Representative Council and the faculty board.

Therefore, we join the PON meetings, have a meeting with the Dean twice a year and talk with the PhD representatives of the FNWI OC on a regular base. Sometimes we sent interesting information to PhD's (i.e. new rules and regulations, courses and job opportunities).

PROBE does not have a formal voice in the policy structure of FNWI. We believe, however, that by sharing information between FNWI institutes/departments on a PhD level and addressing PhD related issues, we do have impact on the quality of your PhD trajectory!


Mariya Nizovkina (IMAPP)
Mayte (Maria Teresa) Alejo Vinogradova (RIMLS)
Fleur Brinkman (IMM)
Marie-Charlott Petersdorf (RIBES)
Jorrit Geels (ICIS)
Inge Dekker (ISiS)

If you have any complaints, suggestions or other issues regarding your PhD trajectory you would like to share with us, feel free to contact PROBE.