ERC Synergy Grants

The ERC Synergy Grants (funding up to a maximum of 14 million euros) are the largest and most competitive grants of the European Research Council. Scientific excellence is the criterium.


  • Heino Falcke, Sera Markoff and Rob Fender - Colour movies of black holes and building a new telescope in Africa


  • Willem Halffman, Raphaël Lévy, Cyrus Mody and Cyril Labbé - The NanoBubbles project
  • Arno Kentgens, Geoffrey Bodenhausen, Benno Meier and Jan Korvin - The research team will focus on developing NMR methods whereby medicines can be screened at a high processing speed.


  • Mike Jetten and Caroline Slomp - Microbial removal of methane and ammonium from the environment.
  • Mikhail Katsnelson, Olle Eriksson and Alexander Lichtenstein - Theoretical tools for ultrafast dynamics of correlated electrons in solids.
  • Theo Rasing, Stefan Blügel, Rafal Dunin-Borkowski and Mathias Kläui - From two-dimensional to three-dimensional magnetization textures.