Radboud University

ERC Advanced Grants

ERC Advanced Grants allow exceptional established research leaders to pursue ground-breaking, high-risk projects that open new directions in their respective research fields or other domains. The maximum funding is 2.5 million euros.

Awards at Radboud University:


  • Francesco Battaglia: Searching for global memory systems
  • Wilhelm Huck: Building a molecular computer
  • Nigel Hussey: The paradox of superconductivity in exotic metals
  • Heleen Murre-van den Berg: Oriental Christianity in Europe
  • Carl Figdor: A new approach to immunotherapy
  • Mihai Netea: Improving vaccinations for the elderly


  • Joan Daemen: Reinventing symmetric cryptography
  • Mireille Hildebrandt: The use of artificial intelligence and block-chain technology in law
  • Jorg Hörandel: Measuring cosmic rays


  • Roeland Nolte: Storing data on a single polymer chain


  • Jan van Hest: Develop new artificial cells and cell components
  • John van Opstal: How our brains integrate audiovisual, sensory and motor information in eye – head coordination


  • Huub op den Camp: Microorganisms inhabiting extreme ecosystems


  • Mike Jetten: Methane-munching microbes
  • Henk Stunnenberg: How a genome is regulated
  • Mikhail Katsnelson: New physics theory for nanoscale and hypervelocity
  • Theo Rasing: Magnetisation at its most rapid


  • Bart Jacobs: Quantum computation, logic, and security
  • Nico Verdonschot: Diagnostic and evaluation methods for orthopedic patients


  • Roeland Nolte: 'Processive catalysis', organic chemistry


  • Guillén Fernandez: The neural background of knowledge acquisition and stabilisation
  • Carl Figdor: New nano vaccines against cancer
  • Stephen Levinson: Interaction in human communication


  • Wilhelm Huck: Chemical reactions in extremely small droplets of water


  • Pieter Muysken: Examinated whether language changes result from an external influence or from the dynamics of the language itself
  • Mike Jetten: Continue and expand research into the annamox bacteria
  • Heino Falcke: Cosmic particles with the highest possible energy