Radboud University

Spinoza Prize winners

The NWO-Spinoza Prize is the highest Dutch award in science. NWO awards the prize to Dutch researchers who rank among the absolute top of science. The scientists receive the prestigious prize for their outstanding, groundbreaking and inspiring research. The winners are internationally renowned scientists and know how to motivate young researchers. Each of them will receive 2.5 million euro to spend on research of their choice.

On this page you'll find an overview of professors of Radboud University who have been awarded a NWO-Spinoza Prize.

Prof. dr. W.T.S. Huck (2016)

Professor of Physical Organic Chemistry
How did life evolve from dead chemicals? This is the question that Wilhelm Huck is trying to answer. Huck’s search for the essence of life starts at the beginning. He considers life to be a bag of molecules. To simulate that situation, he creates networks of biomolecules. Proteins, nucleotides, lipids, what are they doing with each other?

Prof. dr. M.G. Netea (2016)

Professor of Experimental Internal Medicine at Radboud university medical center. Mihai Netea is one of the most authoritative scientists in the study of the immune system. He tries to understand how our body identifies pathogens and controls them effectively. His discovery of the ‘trained immune system’ was ground-breaking.

Prof. dr. M.I. Katsnelson (2013)

was awarded the NWO Spinoza Prize 2013. Mikhail (or Misha) Katsnelson is professor of Theoretical Physics at the Institute for Molecules and Materials (IMM) of Radboud University. He is one of the most frequently cited authors in his field. His publications on graphene alone have been cited more than 12,000 times.

Prof. dr. ir. M.S.M. Jetten (2012)

was awarded the NWO Spinoza Prize 2012 for his work on extraordinary microbes, which he discovered in unusual biotopes. He specialises in slow-growing, anaerobic bacteria. Jetten – professor of Ecological Microbiology at Radboud University and professor by special appointment of Environmental Microbiology at Delft University of Technology – was one of the first to entice these bacteria to grow and reveal their secrets down to most detailed genetic and molecular level.

Prof. dr. I. Moerdijk (2012)

professor of Algebra and Topology at Radboud University, was awarded the NWO Spinoza Prize 2012 for his research in topology and mathematical logic. Moerdijk is one of the first mathematicians in the world to explore the frontiers of and relationships between these two fields of study – which are seemingly very different from each other. He has achieved surprising results that are relevant for other disciplines, such as informatics.

Prof. dr. Heino Falcke (2011)

professor of Radio Astronomy and Astroparticle physics at Radboud University. He performs groundbreaking research into one of the most mysterious phenomena of the universe, black holes.

Prof. dr. Theo Rasing (2008)

professor of Spectroscopy of Solids and Interfaces at Radboud University. Rasing's work includes the use of ultrafast laser pulses to manipulate tiny magnets.

Prof. dr. Carl Figdor (2006)

professor of Experimental Immunology Radboud University. Professor Figdor received the NWO/Spinoza Prize 2006 for his groundbreaking research into the use of immune cells against cancer and for how he translates fundamental research into patient care. Carl Figdor played an important role in the founding of the Nijmegen Centre for Molecular Life Sciences, which under his leadership has become an institute of excellence with world fame aspirations.

Prof. dr. Peter Hagoort (2005)

professor of Cognitive Neurosciences, with a focus on neuroimaging at Radboud University. Hagoort received the NWO/Spinoza prize 2005 for his research into human linguistic competence and for how he has led the F.C. Donders Centre to world fame.

Prof. dr. Henk Barendregt (2002)

professor of Intelligent Systems at Radboud University. His speciality is lambda calculus, a formal language for representing mathematical functions, algorithms and reasoning. He was the first person to summarize, classify and clearly present all aspects of lambda calculus in a research monograph.

Prof. dr. Bert Meijer (2001)

professor of Physical Organic and Supramolecular Chemistry at Radboud Universit and Eindhoven University of Technology.

Prof. dr. Anne Cutler (1999)

professor of Psychology at Radboud University and Director of the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics.

Prof. dr. Pieter Muysken (1998)

professor of Linguistics at Radboud University.