Share a calendar (Outlook)
Never include confidential or personal information in your agenda or (as an attachment) to calendar appointments. Sometimes this information can still be seen by others.
This information can be viewed by:
- people you have authorized to see something more than just whether or not you are available.
- people who are authorised by the person with whom you have made an appointment to see more than just the availability information.
- persons who open your mail in another mail program.
Default setting: Availability only
Colleagues who use the Outlook calendar only see when you are available (busy/free/etc.) by default. With this information they can invite you for an appointment, for example.
Give someone else access to your calendar
For privacy reasons, we strongly recommend that you keep the default setting and selectively grant more rights to certain individuals or groups, allowing them to see more details about your calendar appointments. However, never include confidential information in your calendar.
There are several levels for setting permissions. Please note: You can also set this in the webmail (mail.ru.nl), but the possibilities are a bit more limited.
Give a colleague access to your agenda
In the Outlook calendar, click on 'Authorisations for calendar' and click on the 'Authorisations' tab. On the left side of the table that appears is the 'Name' and on the right side the 'Access level'. Under 'Access level' you can choose a role, that role determines how many rights you give someone. On the same screen, under 'Permission level', you can see exactly what those roles mean (and you can make changes to them). The role of 'Editor' (who can read and write in your calendar) is often reserved for secretariats.
Give group colleagues access to your agenda
You can also give a group of colleagues rights in your diary in one go, a so-called agenda group. Such a group must first be created for the department (often by a secretariat), this can be done by sending an email to email@example.com. The advantage is that when there are changes in the composition of such a group, only the agenda group needs to be modified. This can be done directly in the Outlook address book and several people can be appointed (the administrators) who can make changes to the agenda group.
Information marked as 'Private' may not be visible in Outlook to persons who are not authorized to do so, but this is sometimes possible in other mail programs. Do not include any confidential or personal information here.
In Outlook, appointments that you mark as 'Private' can only be viewed by someone else if you explicitly set this: Click on File - Account settings - Authorised access, select the person who is allowed to view the content of your private items and check the box 'Authorised person can view my private items'.