Zoek in de site...

Theme 1 colloquium: " Vibrationally exciting CO2 for renewable energy storage" (Lecture)

Tuesday 6 June 2017Add to my calendar
from 16:00
prof. Richard Engeln, Plasma and Materials Processing, Department of Applied Physics, TU/e

For large-scale implementation of renewable energy sources efficient energy storage is one of the main challenges. As most of the renewable energy sources produce electricity, an efficient way to store electricity is key in this large-scale implementation. A promising solution is to store the electricity in chemical bonds in the form of liquid fuels. During the colloquium I will discuss plasma-chemical synthesis routes to form fuels from CO2 and water. The most energy-consuming step in this synthesis route is the dissociation of CO2 into CO and oxygen. This dissociation process is believed to be most efficient when selectively exciting the asymmetric stretch vibration of CO2, which can be achieved using the non-thermal nature of plasma: free electrons in the plasma excite CO2 molecules into the first few low-vibrational levels, the molecules are further excited to higher vibrational levels by molecular collisions (ladder-climbing), up to the point where they dissociate. To gain more insight in the dynamics of CO­2 excitation and the effect of vibrational excitation on the dissociation a combined diagnostic and modelling effort is undertaken on a pulsed CO2 glow discharge (see picture). This type of plasma can be operated at low pressure and is very well suited to study the dynamics of vibrationally exciting CO2.

Theme 1 06-06-17

During the colloquium I will report on the results that we have obtained using both in situ time-resolved Fourier Transform IR spectroscopy and Raman spectroscopy on a glow discharge of pure CO2. At the conditions under study, excitation of the asymmetric stretch vibration is observed, clearly exceeding that of the other vibrational modes. The next step will be to show that this indeed leads to an improved efficiency in the dissociation of CO2

dr. Joost Bakker, dr. Gilles de Wijs