Prize winners for 2019

Four academics received the Radboud Network of Women Professors Prize for 2019.

During the Women in the Spotlight conference on 8 March, four female researchers from Radboud University and the Radboud university medical center received the 2019 Network of Women Professors Prize. Once every two years, this award is granted to exceptional female academics who have had a PhD for five years or less. The prize is 1000 euros that the recipient can spend as she sees fit.

The jury, consisting of Prof. Han van Krieken, Prof. Paula Fikkert (FFTR), Prof. Floris Rutjes (FNWI), and Prof. Monique Leyenaar, received no less than 35 nominations, all of whom were very deserving. These nominations were judged on the basis of five criteria:

  • Scientific output in research (judged on originality, social relevance, individual contribution, quality, and quantity)
  • Participation in education
  • Social involvement and activities
  • Award and grant relevance
  • International experience and activities

bb_0803_2019_55 2

L to R: Dr Yvonne Engels accepted the prize on behalf of Rianne van Boekel (see PowerPoint sheet), Dr Kobie van Krieken, Dr Lotte Krabbenborg , Dr Stéfanie André, Prof. Han van Krieken, Prof. Monique Leyenaar

Once again this year, it was striking to see that a number of the nominees exhibit substantial social involvement in the additional activities that they perform as well as in their research and education. Not only do they make their research accessible for a larger audience in a creative and inspiring way, but they are also involved in all kinds of collaborations both inside and outside of the academic community. The jury granted the award to the following four winners arranged by scientific discipline:

Humanities Category: Dr Kobie van Krieken, Postdoc researcher, Communication and Information Studies / Centre for Language Studies, Faculty of Arts

Exact Sciences Category: Dr Lotte Krabbenborg, Assistant Professor, Institute for Molecules and Materials, Faculty of Science

Social Sciences Category: Dr Stéfanie André, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, Faculty of Social Sciences

Medical Sciences Category: Dr Rianne van Boekel, Researcher, Department of Anaesthesiology, Pain, and Palliative Medicine, Radboud university medical center