Zoek in de site...

Programme of Algebra and Topology

Master’s specialisation in Algebra and Topology

The Master’s specialisation in Algebra and Topology is taught at the Faculty of Science. It has a course load of 120 EC* (two years). In the standard research specialisation students must take a total of 24 EC of Mastermath courses (in the three societal specialisations this total consists of only 12 EC). Although the courses may differ per academic year, the core topics of Algebra and Topology remain rather constant.

The structure of your programme is as follows:

Course EC Time period
Homotopy Theory 
Algebraic Topology 1
6 EC Year 1
Algebraic Geometry
Riemann Surfaces
Elliptic Curves
6 EC Year 1

Master Seminar

3 EC Year 1

Philosophy of Mathematics

3 EC Year 1 or 2
Major electives 15 EC in total Year 1 & 2
Minor electives 24 EC in total Year 1 & 2
Mathematical electives 16 EC in total Year 1 & 2
Free electives 6 EC in total Year 1 & 2

Professional preparation

1 EC Year 1

Master's thesis

40 EC Year 2

Compulsory major courses Algebra and Topology

Major courses

Your Major courses are a self-selected set of courses that are related to the field of Algebra and Topology.

Minor courses

Your Minor courses are a self-determined set of coherent courses within Mathematics in general or even within another field of interest.

Mathematical electives

Mathematical electives are courses of choice within the field of Mathematics.

Free electives

Free electives are any courses, not necessarily within the field of Mathematics.

Please note

Your student advisor or the specialisation coordinator will help you choose your courses, and that your chosen set of courses will need to be approved by the Examination Board. This programme will help you construct a Master’s programme that suits your professional and academic interests.

Core topics of Algebra and Topology

In general, the core of the programme for the Algebra and Topology specialisation consists of the following topics, which are taught in courses either locally at the Radboud University or as part of the Mastermath Programme:

  • Homology and Cohomology Theory
  • Homotopy Theory
  • Algebraic Geometry
  • Algebraic Number Theory
  • Homological Algebra
  • Commutative Algebra
  • Algebraic Groups/Lie Groups
  • Crystallographic Groups
  • Representation Theory
  • Elliptic Curves
  • Computer Algebra
  • Complexity Theory
  • Computability Theory
  • Set Theory
  • Model Theory
  • Intuitionistic Mathematics

* European Credit Transfer System (ECTS)
The workload of an academic year is equivalent to 60 European credits (EC), where 1 EC point is 28 hours of study.