Zoek in de site...

Programme of Mathematical Physics

The Master’s specialisation in Mathematical Physics is taught at the Faculty of Science. It has a course load of 120 EC (two years). In this research specialisation students must take a total of at least 12 EC of Mastermath courses. Mastermath is a cooperation of all Departments of Mathematics of the Dutch universities. The courses in this programme are taught at different universities.

The Master’s degree programme content chosen by the student may, after prior permission from the Examination Board, contain a maximum of 12 EC of third year courses from the Bachelor’s programme in Mathematics. This may exclusively consist of third year courses that have not been part of the student’s Bachelor’s programme.

Courses may differ per academic year, but the core topics of Mathematical Physics remain rather constant.

Specialistion coordinator: Prof Dr K. Landsman

The master specialisation Mathematical Physics consists of

A. Major 30 EC
B. Minor 24 EC
C. Mathematical electives 16 EC
D. Master Thesis Project Mathematics 40 EC
E. Professional Preparation 1 EC
F. Philosophy 3 EC
G. Free electives 6 EC

A. Major (30 EC)

Mandatory courses for this major are listed in the table below. One course from every box a), b) and c) is required. The Major should be completed with master courses that are related to this specialisation.

The specialisation coordinator or your thesis supervisor can help you choose your courses.

The remaining EC need to be chosen from MasterMath courses or the courses in the table below. A list of Mastermath courses per specialisation (pdf, 75 kB) is provided. Course information for these courses may be found on the Mastermath website.

B. Minor (24 EC)

Your Minor is a self-determined set of coherent courses within Mathematics in general or within another field of interest. The minor needs to be approved by the Examination Board.

C. Mathematical electives (16 EC)

Mathematical electives are courses of choice within the field of Mathematics. The mathematical electives need to be approved by the Examination Board.

An overview of all Mathematics courses offered by Radboud University is found here. Courses offered by Mastermath may be found here. In case you have questions or need some help, contact your student advisor Ina de Vries.

D. Master Thesis Project Mathematics (40 EC)

E. Professional Preparation (1 EC)

F. Philosophy (3 EC)

One of the following courses should be completed:

G. Free electives (6 EC)

Free electives are any courses, not necessarily within the field of Mathematics.