Professor Roithova

  • Education
    2003 PhD (physical chemistry)
    Institute of Chemical Technology, Prague, Czech Republic
    1998 Master (organic chemistry)
    Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic
  • Current positions
    since 2018 Professor of Spectroscopy and Catalysis, Radboud University, Faculty of Sciences, Nijmegen, Netherlands

  • Previous positions
    • 2007 - 2018 Professor at Charles University, Faculty of Science, Department of Organic Chemistry (2007 Assistant Prof., 2010 Associate Prof., 2014 Professor)
    • 2006 - 2009 Senior researcher in ion chemistry (group of Dr. D. Schröder), Institute of Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry, Academy of Sciences, CZ)
    • 2005 - 2006 Research scientist, Ion chemistry in the gas phase (group of Prof. Z. Herman), J. Heyrovsky Institute of Physical Chemistry, Academy of Sciences, CZ
    • 2003 - 2005 Postdoctoral fellow, Ion chemistry in the gas phase (group of Prof. H. Schwarz), Technische Universität Berlin
    • 2000 - 2003 PhD student, Dynamics of chemical reactions in the gas phase (group of Prof. Z. Herman), J. Heyrovsky Institute of Physical Chemistry, Academy of Sciences, CZ (Ph.D. Thesis: “Structure, stability and reactivity of molecular dications: System CHCl2+ + D2, Ar, Kr, Xe“)
    • 1998 – 2000 PhD student, quantum chemical calculations (group of Doc. R. Ponec), Institute of Chemical Process Fundamentals, Academy of Sciences, CZ
  • Teaching activities
    • Physical organic chemistry, Computational chemistry for experimental chemists, Mass spectrometry, Advances in mass spectrometry, Ethics in Science, Metal-organic chemistry
  • Institutional responsibilities and commissions of trust
    • since 2020 Co-Chair of the Editorial Board of Chemistry-Methods (Chemistry Europe, Wiley VCH)
    • since 2020 Member of the Editorial Board of the International Journal of Mass Spectrometry (Elsevier)
    • since 2020 Member of NWO Chemistry Round Table
    • since 2018 Member of the Scientific Board of the Czech Science Foundation
    • 2014 - 2018 Scientific Board of the French FT-ICR network, France
    • 2016 - 2018 Member of the Scientific Boards of the Faculty of Chemical Engineering, Institute of Chemical Technology, Prague and of the Second Faculty of Medicine, Charles University, Prague
    • 2016 - 2018 Member of the presidium of the Czech Science Foundation
    • 2018, 2020 Member of an ERC panel
    • 2011 – 2015 Chair of the Czech Society for Mass Spectrometry, CZ
  • Major Research Interests
    • Catalysis (investigation of reaction mechanisms of organic and organometallic reactions, characterization of elusive highly reactive intermediates in catalytic reactions, new concepts in catalysis)
    • Development of new methods in mass spectrometry (helium tagging photodissociation spectroscopy; two photon techniques; bridging between solution and gas phase – Delayed reactant labelling method)
  • Prizes and awards
    • 2003: Prize „Chemistry 2003 Rhodia CZ/French Embassy”
    • 2005: Hlávka Prize (The Hlavka Foundation)
    • 2008: L’Oreal “For women in science” stipend
    • 2010: ERC Starting grant ISORI
    • 2014: Neuron Prize
    • 2014: Prize of the Czech Learned Society for young scientists
    • 2014: Vladimír Hanuš Prize
    • 2014: Ignaz L. Lieben Award of the Austrian Academy of Sciences
    • 2015: Heyrovsky-Ilkovič-Nernst Lectureship (German Chemical Society)
    • 2015: Elected member of the Learned Society of the Czech Republic
    • 2016: ERC Consolidator grant IsoMS
    • 2017: The Rudolf Lukeš prize (Czech Chemical Society)
    • 2018: Elected as a ChemPubSoc Europe Fellow 2016/2017
    • 2018: Elected as a member of Academia Europaea
    • 2021: Elected as a member of the Koninklijke Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschappen (KNAW)


ResearcherID = A-5858-2015
ORCID ID = 0000-0001-5144-0688